September 11, 2001

Ten years ago I took these photos from the roof of my apartment building in SoHo:

My neighbor and friend Pete, who had just woken up and who I ran into in the stairwell in his boxers as we were all heading to the roof to see what was going on:

Today, I took these photos from a Blackhawk flying through Paktika province, Afghanistan – near the border with Pakistan.

I’m at FOB Ghazni, and I’ve realized 9/11 does not mean the same thing to the Polish as it does to the Americans. To Americans it only means one searing thing. When I ask a Polish soldier where he was on 9/11, he’ll pause for a moment and say, “You mean  2001?”   The Americans don’t need clarification.

Leave a Reply

